Our History

The Hill Center was established in 1977 in Durham, North Carolina as the Hill Learning Development Center, with a mission to provide an intensive remediation program for students with specific learning disabilities or attention deficit disorders. Originally established as an adjunct program of nearby Durham Academy, in 1980 the Center was dedicated to founder George Watts Hill (pictured on right with his wife Anne Hill) and renamed The Hill Center. In 1998, The Hill Center became a separate 501(c)3 nonprofit organization with its own Board of Directors. Today, Hill operates as an affiliate of Durham Academy and serves a range of public and private school students, teachers, schools, and school districts.



School Year Program

Summer Program

Tutoring Program

Teacher Training Program



"The Hill Center is proof that these children can learn if we learn how to teach them. I am so proud of The Hill Center and I hope that the whole nation will learn about this and two million teachers in America will learn how to teach all children successfully through the good work of The Hill Center." - James B. Hunt, Jr., Former North Carolina Governor

3200 Pickett Road
Durham, NC 27705

Phone: 919.489.7464
Fax: 919.489.7466
Email: info@hillcenter.org

Connect With Us:


Share This Page:

© 2016 The Hill Center - All rights reserved. | Privacy Policy | Site Map